Job Scam Revealed: Career Network


I received this email from careers@holdyourplace.com yesterday about a Claims Consultant position.  It’s a good example of how smart bad folks are at trying to lure job seekers with bogus ads just to get your information.

Email from Career Network

Holdyourplace email scam



Note some of the key tactics:

  • The title of the email starts of “looking to fill claims consultant position.”  What is a claims consultant?  Everyone could be a claims consultant.
  • It is personalized with my first name, and they use it again in the second paragraph.  Here’s a tip-off.  Notice that there’s an extra space between Dan and the comma in the “Dear Dan ,”  The same space appears in the second paragraph.  This is a mail-merge document.
  • “To avoid being flooded…” – doesn’t that make you feel special, the idea that you’d get special treatment available to only a few people?  Sure, who doesn’t want that!
  • Notice that my email is embedded in the link they want you to click on.  This will enable them to know that it was you who responded so they know they have a hook to a live person.
  • Note that the address for Career Network is a PO Box.  That’s a tip-off as well.
  • Let’s see if we can find this company and their location on the Internet.  Check out what folks say about them on Yahoo Maps!

I changed the email address on the link (so they can’t trace-back when I click on their link) and found it takes you to this page:

Claims Consultant Job Description

Key tip-offs:

  • They don’t name the company.  It’s a “blind” ad.
  • When was the last time you saw a job ad begin with the word “astutely”  Most job ads are written at an 8th grade reading level or below.  This has some fairly advanced language.
  • What’s with the “Click here to login if you are an advantage member?”  Advantage member?  Are they affiliated with American Airlines’ Advantage program?
  • The section below captures basic information including education name, address, etc.  It also asks you to upload you resume!

After clicking submit, here’s what you get.

What just happened?  I thought I was applying for a job?  This is now asking me about education?  Did I just miss something?  Oh, the last question:  Do I have to select a school as part of my job application?  Whew, I’m glad I’m still in the application.  Let’s continue…

Hmmm.  I’m glad they’re interested in my advancing my education, note how they reinforce that this will not affect my job application.  (Could it be because this IS A SCAM and there is NO JOB?)  Let’s continue and see…

Picture 8

Oh good, employment eligibility.  This doesn’t seem to be your usual EEO questions about race and gender though…

picture 9

Next questions are a series of am I interested…  My Spidey-senses are tingling fully now!  We’re almost there…

picture 10

OK, references.  Usually I save my references for after the interview, but I really need a job.  Let me give 3 references. After all, they require it, and 1 has to be professional…  I guess I should only include 2 of my drinking buddies then..

picture 11

Here’s my 3 references. And, huh?  There’s no Continue button.  In fact there’s no button at all.  I’m left on this page with nothing to do.  There is no closure.  I refreshed the page and tried a different browser.  No luck.  BUT, what just happened here?  I gave 3 references with email addresses.  Do you believe they will contact my references about the Claims Adjuster position.  OR, do you think they’ll contact them to invite them to be one of the selected few to apply for the Claims Adjuster position?

Final Nail in the Coffin

I did a Google search for Career Network scam and found this:

Career Network Complaints – Fake job website SCAM

Review all Career Network complaints

Career Network

Posted: 2008-10-27 by NMorse [send email]
Fake job website SCAM
Complaint Rating:  93 % with 15 votesAny links to the Career Network or The Career Resource is a scam. I went to the same applicatoin site descibed above and Thank God that my hair started standing on end and I decided to do some research before sending them my personal info. If you look below you will see what I found. They are a fraud and have been in hot water with the U.S. District Court. Enough Said…

Career Network, Inc., and its principals, Walter Turulis and Kathleen Key. Complaint filed in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Indiana, Hammond Division, on January 3, 2001. On January 3, 2001, the court granted the FTC’s request for a temporary restraining order, asset freeze, and appointment of a temporary receiver. On January 9, 2001, the court entered stipulated preliminary injunction, continuing the terms of the TRO. Civil Action No: 2:01-CV-001-JM; FTC Staff Contact: Gregory A. Ashe, Bureau of Consumer Protection, 202-326-3719.

Bottom Line:

  • Trust your senses.  If it seems odd or off, it just may be.
  • Immediately do a search for the company name, URL, or other information in the ad with the word “SCAM” to see if others have identified the ad as bogus.
  • If there is no contact information, or if the announcement is vague, there’s a strong chance they are trying to get your information and the job is real.  If the ad is not concrete, the job is probably not concrete either.
  • Be cautious of links on a page as they may embed your email and give a clue that you are a real, live person.  Once they know there’s someone there many scammers will adopt either flood or shift tactics to get more personal information
7 comments on “Job Scam Revealed: Career Network

  1. Hi Dan, I was at your excellent presentation at HIMSS — any chance you could send me a PPT copy of it?

    Thanks so much,
    Brian

    • Brian,
      Great hearing from you, and thanks for your message. Let me know if it was the Finding Keepers HIMSS views from the top presentation or the Career Workshop session. I’ll get you the file out today.

  2. I received this today and was excited because I have been out of work since April. I decided to so some research and found your blog. My Christmas won’t be any merrier but then again I won’t be scammed!

  3. been a couple years, but watch for this guy every once in awhle, I traced Career Network an his mother, he is an middle-eastern or some other nationality like that and his mother is involved, he was former partner of Lou Pearlman he boy band manager that got 25 years in Florida prison for talent agency scames, a reporter in San Francisco and florida has been folowing this idiot, his personal website has him wanting to run for senator. he was jailed for child abuse for 4 years. I forgt his name due to so many aliases, but anything related to Careert Network or a Talent Network agency is a fraud, and he may possibly be linked to a russian computer mob ring. beware. as soon as I get my notes out I’ll post his name and aliases, but look up Lou Pearlman, he just followed that same scheme later. he stupidly sent me a wrong email address with his name on it when I was looking for work about 4 or 5 years ago, I got him banned from craigslist and yahoo at the time, craiglist security actually talked to me. the victims have to report. RipOFF report is one of the best sites, federal government actually looks at it.

Leave a Reply

